Maren Malu Blume

Maren Malu Blume develops site-specific performances, performance lectures and videos on embodied knowledge, politics of history and time as well as strategies of collective (un)learning. She* works in various collectives or alone, with the means of artistic research. The research process itself, along with its sometimes private and emotional documents of failure, ignorance, fear or euphoria, is always reflected upon and performed. The central element is always how we can relate to each other within the field of tension between power and empowerment in order to create new forms of conviviality.

As part of the award, she* will produce a video installation which investigates the potential of collective care for queer feminist survival strategies in the precariat. Through interviews, collective workshops and performances, friends will be invited to share their perspectives on care in order to collectively imagine utopias for post-capitalist forms of communal living.

Vita

Maren Malu Blume (*1988) lives and works between Vienna and Berlin. Her* practice crosses the fields of art, performance, education and activism. She* graduated in 2016 with a Master in Critical Studies, an artistic-scientific study program at the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna, and before that with a Bachelor in Art Education and Pedagogy at the University of Osnabrück. She* works mostly in collectives (ff. Feministisches Fundbüro 2015, Heulsuse 2017, Feige. Verein für queer-feministische Bildung und Bildproduktion 2018 - wirsindfeige.org), which she* founded with her friends to advance their projects on queer feminism, archive politics, friendship*innenschaft, collective knowledge production and care.

Maren Malu Blume

Maren Malu Blume erarbeitet immer wieder, in verschiedenen Kollektiven oder allein, mit Mitteln künstlerischer Forschung ortsspezifische Performances, Performance Lectures und Videos zu wissenden Körpern, Geschichts- und Zeitpolitiken sowie Strategien des kollektiven Ver_Lernens. Der Forschungsprozess selbst, mitsamt seinen mitunter privaten und emotionalen Dokumenten des Scheiterns, des Nicht-Wissens, der Angst oder der Euphorie, wird dabei stets mit reflektiert und mit aufgeführt. Zentrales Element ist dabei immer, wie wir innerhalb des Spannungsfeldes von Macht und Ermächtigung mit unseren Körpern zueinander in Beziehung treten können, um neue Formen des Zusammenseins zu erschaffen.

Im Rahmen des Förderpreises erforscht Maren Malu Blume für eine Videoinstallation das Potenzial kollektiver Fürsorge für queer-feministische Überlebensstrategien im Prekariat. Mittels Interviews, kollektiver Workshops und Performance werden dabei Freund*innen eingeladen, ihre Erfahrungen mit und Perspektiven auf Care einzubringen und gemeinsam Utopien für post-kapitalistische Gemeinschaftsformen zu imaginieren.

Vita

Maren Malu Blume (*1988) lebt und arbeitet zwischen Wien und Berlin. Ihre* Praxis durchquert die Bereiche Kunst, Performance, Bildung und Aktivismus. Sie* hat 2016 den Master in Critical Studies, einem künstlerisch-wissenschaftlichen Studienprogramm an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste Wien, abgeschlossen, davor Bachelor in Kunstpädagogik und Bildungswissenschaften an der Universität Osnabrück. Sie* arbeitet meist in Kollektiven (ff. Feministisches Fundbüro 2015, Heulsuse 2017, Feige. Verein für queer-feministische Bildung und Bildproduktion 2018 - wirsindfeige.org), die sie* mit Freund*innen gegründet hat, an Projekten zu Queer-Feminismus, Archivpolitiken, Freund*innenschaft, kollektiver Wissensproduktion und Fürsorge.