Stein In My Mind & i hate my village

Advancement Awards Exhibition

31 August–9 November 2014

Artists:

CALL and Tonio Kröner

CALL
Stein In My Mind

CALL is a platform for different formats in varying constellations of people: A homonymous magazine, an event in a boxing ring on Hamburg’s Reeperbahn, lectures, texts and exhibitions. The common ground is the exclamation: “art and feminism”!

During the last couple of months CALL has moved its headquarters to Hohenlockstedt, where a new issue of the magazine is taking form. With the exhibition “Stein In My Mind” CALL now opens the doors and together with works of the participating artists the editorial office and a “bed set” for a potential porn shooting give a foretaste of CALLzine #2.

Kindly supported by the Karl H. Ditze Foundation.

&

Tonio Kröner
i hate my village

(Near the US-Mexico border, 1984)
¡Mira mira! ¡Viene la tormenta!
What did he just say?
He said there is a storm coming.
I know.

The windows to the exhibition space are darkened. There is no artificial light. The stump of an oversized arm is hanging from the ceiling. The corridor usually leading to the upper gallery is obstructed by a wall in which four oversized wisdom teeth are stuck. The only accessible entry is through the elevator. From the upper gallery floor protrudes the oversized hand belonging to the aforementioned stump. Around it, an indistinct flesh-colored silhouette repeats itself in oil on rough canvas. Extracted, fragmented parts retreat into the refuge of the exhibition space, sealing themselves off from the world. Yet the gestures don’t conform to the dimensions of an interior and its furnishings. They scale human dimensions to the monument of a digital, public space.
There is a storm coming? You are already in it.

Tonio Kröner (*1984) studied at the Städelschule in Frankfurt and the Vienna Academy of Fine Arts. He is currently a WIELS resident in Brussels.

Events

2014

31. August 15–18 h Opening

Stein In My Mind & i hate my village

Förderpreisausstellung

31. August–9. November 2014

Künstler/innen:

CALL und Tonio Kröner

CALL
Stein In My Mind

CALL ist eine Plattform für verschiedene Formate in wechselnden Personenkonstellationen: Ein gleichnamiges Magazin, eine Veranstaltung in einem Boxring auf der Hamburger Reeperbahn, Vorträge, Texte und Ausstellungen. Die gemeinsame Grundlage ist der Ausruf „Kunst und Feminismus“!

In den letzten Monaten hat CALL sein Hauptquartier nach Hohenlockstedt verlegt, wo eine neue Ausgabe des Magazins Form annimmt. Mit der Ausstellung „Stein In My Mind“ öffnet Call die Türen und neben Werken der einzelnen Künstlerinnen geben Redaktionsbüro und ein „Bett-Set“ für einen potentiellen Porno-Dreh einen Vorgeschmack auf CALLzine #2.

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Karl H. Ditze-Stiftung

&

Tonio Kröner
i hate my village

(Nahe der US-Mexikanischen Grenze, 1984)
¡Mira mira! ¡Viene la tormenta!
What did he just say?
He said there is a storm coming.
I know.

Die Fenster der Ausstellungshalle sind mit Folie verdunkelt, künstliche Beleuchtung fehlt. Der Stumpf eines übergroßen Arms hängt unter der Decke. Der übliche Durchgang zur Empore ist von einer Wand versperrt, die vier übergroße Weisheitszähne einklemmt. Zutritt ist barrierefrei über den Fahrstuhl möglich. Auf der Empore steht die zum Stumpf gehörende übergroße Hand. Ringsum wiederholt sich in Öl auf groben Leinwänden eine unbestimmte fleischfarbene Silhouette. Extrahierte, fragmentierte Teile ziehen sich in das Refugium der Ausstellungsräume zurück und schotten sich ab. Die Gesten gehen jedoch nicht in den Dimensionen eines Innens und seiner Möblierung auf. Sie skalieren menschliche Dimensionen zum Monument eines digitalen, öffentlichen Raums.

There is a storm coming? You are already in it.

Tonio Kröner (*1984) hat an der Städelschule in Frankfurt und der Akademie der bildenden Künste in Wien studiert. Derzeit lebt er im Rahmen des WIELS Residency Program in Brüssel.

Termine

2014

31. August 15–18 Uhr Eröffnung