Untitled, 6 X 2, 2008

Exhibition

21 September–14 December 2008

Artists:

Gabriele Basch, Berta Fischer, Henriette Grahnert, Wenzel Hablik, Thilo Heinzmann, Maarten Janssen, Kalin Lindena, Thomas Rentmeister, Mandla Reuter, Ton Schuttelaar, Juliane Solmsdorf and Alexander Wolff

curated by Petra Reichensperger

The extent to which painting and sculpture have mutually influenced each other in the very real tension between imago and realem is now no longer a novum. However, it is the influence of the second dimension on the third that is typically emphasized. This is because painting has played a paradigmatic role for the remaining fields of art since at least the 18th century. It was considered the queen of the modern, the role model for the other arts. This image is still flickering in Barnett Newman’s definition of sculpture: “Sculpture is what you bump into when you back up to see a painting”.
The exhibition Untitled, 6 X 2, 2008 thus effectuates a reversal of perspective. It questions the canonical hierarchy of art forms, as well as their effects. The curator Petra Reichensperger has invited six artists who explore the wide field of “expanded painting” in their work. Primarily working on the fringes of painting, the artists Gabriele Basch, Henriette Grahnert, Thilo Heinzmann, Maarten Janssen, Kalin Lindena and Alexander Wolff have each invited an additional artist whose sculptural or spatial position is of significance for his/her own work: Berta Fischer, Thomas Rentmeister, Juliane Solmsdorf, Ton Schuttelaar, Wenzel Hablik and Mandla Reuter. Through the “invitations of the invited” in particular, a situation arises in which the exhibited works mutually relate to one another: One work comments another work, one work looks at other works.
Each artist duo has been given a room of its own in the 800 m2 exhibition building, so that each specific artistic cosmos appears clearly and distinctly. In one space, the outcome is an echo chamber and in another, a counterpoint. The process of expanded invitation and the 6x2 mode permit the artists to develop new forms, combinations and perspectives in tandem. Assuming that the experiment is successful, an “untitled work” results that can be experienced within the field of tension between the two initial artistic positions. “Untitled” adds a meta-level to the exhibited works which identifies the title as the space-holder for a blank space and, precisely for this reason, calls for commentary. May the process of becoming never cease.

Events

2008

20. September 16–18 h Opening

Untitled, 6 X 2, 2008

Ausstellung

addmission, long_description

21. September–14. Dezember 2008

Künstler/innen:

kuratiert von Petra Reichensperger

Wie sehr sich Malerei und Bildhauerei im faktischen Spannungsverhältnis von Imago und Realem gegenseitig beeinflusst haben, ist heute kein Novum mehr. Meist wird dabei jedoch der Einfluss der zweiten auf die dritte Dimension stark gemacht. Denn spätestens seit dem Ende des 18. Jahrhunderts spielte die Malerei für die übrigen Gattungen der bildenden Kunst eine paradigmatische Rolle. Sie galt als Königin der Moderne, die sich die anderen Künste zum Vorbild nahmen. Dieses Bild flackert selbst noch in Barnett Newmans Definition der Skulptur auf: „Sculpture is what you bump into when you back up to see a painting“.

Die Ausstellung Untitled, 6 X 2, 2008 vollzieht daher einen Perspektivenwechsel. Sie hinterfragt die kanonisierte Hierachie der Gattungen, wie auch deren Effekte. Die Kuratorin Petra Reichensperger hat sechs Künstler eingeladen, die mit ihren Arbeiten das große Thema „Erweiterungen der Malerei“ ausloten. Die vornehmlich an den Rändern der Malerei arbeitenden Künstler Gabriele Basch, Henriette Grahnert, Thilo Heinzmann, Maarten Janssen, Kalin Lindena und Alexander Wolff haben wiederum jeweils eine weitere – für ihr eigenes Werk wichtige – skulpturale oder auch installative Position ausgewählt: Berta Fischer, Thomas Rentmeister, Juliane Solmsdorf, Ton Schuttelaar, Wenzel Hablik und Mandla Reuter. Besonders durch die „Einladungen der Eingeladenen“ entsteht eine Situation, in der sich die gezeigten Werke gegenseitig ins Verhältnis setzen: Ein Werk kommentiert ein anderes Werk; ein Werk blickt andere Werke an.

Jedes Künstler-Duo erhält in dem 800 qm2 großen Ausstellungshaus einen eigenen Raum, so dass der spezifische künstlerische Kosmos klar zur Geltung kommt. Einmal entsteht ein Echoraum, ein anderes Mal ein Contrapunkt. Das Verfahren der erweiterten Einladung und der Modus 6 X 2 ermöglichen, gemeinsam neue Formen, Kombinationen und Perspektiven zu entwickeln. Unter der Voraussetzung, dass das Experiment glückt, entsteht dabei ein „unbetiteltes Werk“, das im Spannungsfeld zwischen den beiden Ausgangspositionen erfahrbar wird. Untitled versieht die ausgestellten Arbeiten mit einer Metaebene, die den Titel als Platzhalter einer Leerstelle ausweist, und die genau aus diesem Grund zum Kommentar aufruft: Damit der Prozess des Werdens nicht aufhören möge.

Termine

2008

20. September 16–18 Uhr Eröffnung