again here. because we aren‘t what we are

Advancement Awards Exhibition

long_description

30 March–24 May 2009

Artists:

Stefan Panhans and Eske Schlüters, Förderpreise Video 2008
curated by Petra Reichensperger

How are identities formed, and how can they be understood or even transformed? Stefan Panhans and Eske Schlüters, winners of the 2008 Arthur Boskamp Foundation Video Grant, question different models of identity in their work, emphasizing their enmeshment with social relationships and psychic constellations, such as they occur at real, symbolic and imaginary levels. To this end, both artists employ the acts of showing and speaking.

Stefan Panhans is interested in the contradictory tensions between egocentric individualism and surrender to belief systems, such as the free market proposes them. He explores this interest in videos, photography and collages. With enigmatic humor, characters and settings alternate between real and dream worlds and parody the economy’s influence on the invention of the self. Individuality becomes a commodity. Minimalist shots and staccato monologues by the main characters are hugely suggestive of the tireless work that goes into social roles. In Panhans’ new film “If a Store Clerk Gave Me Too Much Change”, the magic words are “you must find YOURSELF, your inner source of power”.

In editing together her video projections, Eske Schlüters experiments primarily with found material from both feature and documentary films. She plays the “re” as it is found in reproduction, resampling and reenactment – as strategy, as subversion and as a means to understanding. “After the Rehearsal” is based on a film on the filming of Chantal Ackerman’s feature “Jeanne Dielmann”. The selected making-of scenes show the main actress rehearsing her part for the camera. Beyond that, the artist surveys the potential roles, stagings and performances in various living and working situations in an installation consisting of twenty alu-dibond posters.

Events

2009

29. March 14–16 h Opening
15. May 14–16 h film program “stage of desire”

long_description

again here. because we aren‘t what we are

Förderpreisausstellung

30. März–24. Mai 2009

Künstler/innen:

Stefan Panhans und Eske Schlüters

Stefan Panhans und Eske Schlüters, Förderpreise Video 2008
kuratiert von Petra Reichensperger

Wie entstehen Identitäten, wie lassen sie sich verstehen oder gar verändern? Stefan Panhans und Eske Schlüters, Föderpreisträger Video 2008 der Arthur Boskamp-Stiftung, hinterfragen in ihren Arbeiten unterschiedliche Identitätsentwürfe und kreisen um deren Verflechtungen mit gesellschaftlichen Verhältnissen und psychischen Konstellationen, wie sie im Realen, im Symbolischen und im Imaginären hervortreten. Beide nutzen dafür den Akt des Zeigens und des Sprechens.

Stefan Panhans interessiert sich in seinen Videos, Fotografien und Collagen für die widersprüchlichen Spannungen zwischen dem ichbezogenen Individualismus und der Hingabe an Glaubensysteme, wie sie der freie Markt entwirft. Mit abgründigem Humor persiflieren seine zwischen Traum- und Realwelt changierenden Figuren und Settings den Einfluss der Ökonomie auf Selbstentwürfe. Individualität wird bei ihm zur Ware. Die Minimierung der Kameraeinstellung und die stakkatohaften Monologe der Hauptdarsteller erzeugen eine große Suggestionskraft, die die unermüdliche Arbeit an den Rollen in der Gesellschaft bloßlegt. In seinem neuen Film „If a Store Clerk Gave Me Too Much Change“ heißt die Losung dann auch: „Du musst DICH finden, deine innere Kraftquelle.“

In der Montage ihrer Videoprojektionen experimentiert Eske Schlüters bevorzugt mit gefundenem Material aus Spiel- und Dokumentarfilmen. Das Re- wie es in Reinszenierungen, im Resampling und im Reenactment zum Ausdruck kommt, wird in ihren Arbeiten eindrucksvoll als Strategie, als Subversion und als Mittel zur Vergegenwärtigung in Szene gesetzt. „After the Rehearsal“ basiert auf einem Film über die Dreharbeiten zu Chantal Akermans Spielfilm „Jeanne Dielmann“. Die ausgewählten Making-Of-Szenen zeigen die Hauptdarstellerin beim Proben ihrer Rolle für die Kamera. Darüber hinaus befragt die Künstlerin in einer Installation aus zwanzig Aludibond-Plakaten, das Potenzial von Rolle, Inszenierung und Darstellung in verschiedenen Lebens- und Arbeitssituationen.

Termine

2009

15. Mai 14–16 Uhr Filmprogramm „stage of desire“
29. März 14–16 Uhr Eröffnung