I saw the sky covered with small stars like splashing water

Exhibition

long_description

1 July–12 November 2017

Artists:

When Ali Joof invites Gitte Villesen and her cameraman to join him in milking his cows in his village in the Gambian countryside, the presence of the filmmaker alters the everyday quality of the situation, revealing a playful interaction between the participants (Gido, 20 Min., 2014). In the Wolof language, the word “Gido“ denotes a particular form of friendship, aptly describing the relationship between Ali and his friend, the Gambian musician Amadou Sarr.

In Gitte Villesen’s video and photo installation deeply immersed in the contents of a learning stone (28:20 min., 2016), a narrative of the transcendence of states of consciousness unfolds. In conversations with Emma Haugh, alongside feminist sci-fi literature and material on Katharina Detzel, Franz Kockartz and Oskar Voll from the Prinzhorn Collection in Heidelberg, the work traces several concepts, gender constructions and power dynamics at the intersections of different worlds.

The photo installation I stick my hands into the earth, and I think for a while (2017), which exists also in the form of a publication, is an arranged collection of materials from Gitte’s artistic practice. Many of the images depict fragments and also present themselves as fragments; as such they are open to interconnection on a narrative or a documentary level. This can be seen as a not-as-yet as well as an already-underway: a narrative with an open beginning and ending. It remains in motion, the juxtaposition of the two images in effect placing them along a line that both divides and connects.

I saw the sky covered with small stars like splashing water

Ausstellung

long_description

1. Juli–24. September 2017

Künstler/innen:

Wenn der Bauer Ali Joof Gitte und ihren Kameramann einlädt, ihn zum Melken seiner Kühe in die gambische Landschaft seines Heimatdorfes zu begleiten, wird die nicht-alltägliche Bedingung, die durch die Anwesenheit der Filmenden entsteht, und der spielerische Umgang der Beteiligten damit sichtbar (Gido, 20 Min., 2014). In der Sprache Wolof steht Gido für eine besondere Form der Freundschaft, wie sie auch zwischen Ali und seinem Freund, dem gambischen Musiker Amadou Sarr, besteht.

In deeply immersed in the contents of a learning stone (28:20 Min., 2016) wird ein Narrativ des Überschreitens von Bewusstseinszuständen entfaltet. Im Gespräch mit der Künstlerin Emma Haugh, entlang feministischer Sci-Fi-Literatur oder mit Materialien zu Katharina Detzel, Franz Kockartz und Oskar Voll aus der Heidelberger Sammlung Prinzhorn folgt die Arbeit in assoziativen Wiedererzählungen mehreren Denkmodellen, Geschlechterbildern und Machtdynamiken an den Übergängen verschiedener Welten.

Die Fotoinstallation I stick my hands into the earth, and I think for a while (2017), die auch als Publikation erschienen ist, ist eine arrangierte Materialsammlung aus Gitte Villesens künstlerischer Praxis. Manche der Bilder zeigen Fragmente, stellen sich aber auch selbst als Fragmente dar, die sich auf der erzählerischen wie auf derdokumentarischen Ebene für Anschlüsse anbieten. Es ist ein noch-nicht wie ein bereits-schon, eine Erzählung mit offenem Anfang und Ausgang. Es bleibt in einer Bewegung, in der sich die Bilder entlang einer trennenden wie verbindenden Linie anordnen können.