Practices of Radical Health Care

– materials from the health movement of West Berlin during the 1970s and 1980s

Advancement Awards Exhibition

subtitle, long_description

29 September–28 October 2018

Artists:

Practices of Radical Health Care presents research on the health movement of West Berlin in an exhibition, in workshops, events and a publication. A number of radical health institutions emerged at the intersection of feminism and the squatting scene: The Feminist Women*‘s Health Center (FFGZ), the anti-psychiatric information center and HeileHaus (healing house), all of which continue to offer alternative health services even today. Feminist health initiatives organized vaginal self-examinations, self-help groups and autonomous counseling, and fought for the legalization of abortion. The health movement challenged the dominating patriarchal medical view, particularly in gynecology, as well as the concept of health underlying the established medical system. The health movement politicized illness as a societal space of disruption and resistance.

In Practices of Radical Health Care the Feminist Health Care Research Group develops displays and collages that bring together conversations about the health movement, its visual materials, documents and publications in subjective arrangements. In this way the research group traces the health movement’s educational potential and instructive moments. Practices of Radical Health Care emphasizes the movement’s demands for physical and psychological self-determination, mutual forms of care, social acceptance for psychological diversity and self-empowering perspectives in the health system.

Since 2016 the Feminist Health Care Research Group has been researching the health movement, meeting with protagonists, visiting initiatives and collecting documents.
It aims to retrieve and re-activate self-empowering and feminist practices of medical self-determination.

The Feminist Health Care Research Group (Julia Bonn, Alice Münch, Inga Zimprich) develops artistic perspectives on health. It explores methods of working in groups, offers workshops, issues zines and develops a growing research library.

The Feminist Health Care Research Group received the Advancement Award 2017/2018 by Arthur Boskamp-Stiftung.

Practices of Radical Health Care is supported by
Berliner Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa, M.1 Arthur Boskamp-Stiftung, Stiftung Menschenwürde und Arbeitswelt, Gerda-Weiler-Stiftung für feministische Forschung, Bildungswerkstätten der LSV Berlin

Events

2018

29. September 16 h Exhibition opening and guided tour: Practices of Radical Health Care
30. September 16 h Artist Talk with Guests from the Health Movement
27. October 11–18 h Sick Time, Crip Time, Caring Time subtitle – Workshop and zine presentation with Feminist Healthcare Research Group and Sickness Affinity Group

subtitle, long_description

28. October 11–15 h Walking tour in the Aukrug Nature Park and remedy production subtitle Workshop with Jacqueline Strauer, pharmacist and alternative practitioner

addmission, subtitle, long_description

Practices of Radical Health Care

– Materialien zur Gesundheitsbewegung West-Berlins der 70er und 80er Jahre

Förderpreisausstellung

subtitle, long_description

29. September–28. Oktober 2018

Künstler/innen:

Practices of Radical Health Care – Materialien zur Gesundheitsbewegung präsentiert in Ausstellung, Workshops, Veranstaltungen und einer Publikation eine Recherche zur Gesundheitsbewegung West-Berlins. An der Schnittstelle zwischen Frauen*bewegung und Hausbesetzer*innenszene entstanden radikale Institutionen wie das Feministische Frauengesundheitszentrum (FFGZ), die antipsychiatrische Beratungsstelle und das HeileHaus, die heute mit alternativen Beratungsangeboten fortbestehen. Feministische Gesundheitsinitiativen organisierten vaginale Selbstuntersuchung, Selbsthilfegruppen und autonome Beratungen und kämpften für das Recht auf Abtreibung. Die Gesundheitsbewegung stellte den patriarchalen medizinischen Blick, insbesondere in der Frauen*heilkunde, und den funktionalen Gesundheitsbegriff der Schulmedizin infrage. Die Gesundheitsbewegung politisierte Krankheit als gesellschaftlichen Raum der Unterbrechung und des Widerstands.

In Practices of Radical Health Care erarbeitet die Feministische Gesundheitsrecherchegruppe Displays und Collagen, die Gespräche zur Gesundheitsbewegung, visuelles Material, Dokumente und Publikationen subjektiv zusammenbringen. Darin geht sie den didaktischen Möglichkeiten und instruktiven Momenten der Gesundheitsbewegung nach. Practices of Radical Health Care unterstreicht die Forderungen der Gesundheitsbewegung nach körperlicher Selbstbestimmung, solidarischen Formen gegenseitiger Fürsorge, gesellschaftlicher Anerkennung von Normabweichung und nach selbstermächtigenden Perspektiven im Gesundheitswesen.

Seit 2015 recherchiert die Feministische Gesundheitsrecherchegruppe zur Gesundheitsbewegung. Sie trifft Protagonist*innen, besucht Initiativen und archiviert Dokumente der Bewegung mit dem Ziel, selbstermächtigende und feministische Praxen gesundheitlicher Selbstbestimmung zu bergen und erneut zu aktivieren.

Die Feministische Gesundheitsrecherchegruppe (Julia Bonn, Alice Münch, Inga Zimprich) entwickelt künstlerische Perspektiven auf Gesundheit. Sie erprobt Methoden der Gruppenarbeit, gibt Workshops, veröffentlicht Zines und baut eine Recherchebibliothek auf.

Die FGRG ist Förderpreisträgerin 2017/2018 der Arthur Boskamp-Stiftung.

Practices of Radical Health Care wird unterstützt durch
Berliner Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa, M.1 Arthur Boskamp-Stiftung, Stiftung Menschenwürde und Arbeitswelt, Gerda-Weiler-Stiftung für feministische Forschung, Bildungswerkstätten der LSV Berlin

Termine

2018

29. September 16 Uhr Eröffnung und Führung durch die Ausstellung Practices of Radical Health Care
30. September 15:30 Uhr Führung durch die Ausstellung mit der Feministischen Gesundheitsrecherchegruppe
16 Uhr Künstlerinnengespräch zur Gesundheitsbewegung mit Gästen
27. Oktober 11–18 Uhr Sick Time, Crip Time, Caring Time subtitle – Workshop und Zine Präsentation

addmission, subtitle

28. Oktober 15 Uhr Führung durch die Ausstellung