Damnatio Memoriae

Exhibition

19 September–24 October 2010

Artists:

Ruth Ewan

In her current project “Damnatio Memoriae”, Ruth Ewan (b. 1980 in Aberdeen) deals with penal practices and strategies of memory and forgetting in different historical contexts. Thorough research and participatory workshops stand at the outset of an artistic process that is realized using found materials such as postcards, newspaper articles, posters and films.

Two dissimilar objects, an early modern muzzle and a rare variety of tomato occasion an analysis of history and memory in “Damnatio Memoriae”. Countless red-black tomatoes transform the M.1 hall into a giant greenhouse. The dark-shaded fruit is named after the African-American singer and actor Paul Robeson (1898-1976). In the 40s and 50s, he suffered to massive repressive repercussions for his political fight against racism. Censors ruthlessly deleted his artistic existence.

Witches, on the other hand, are still remembered to this today as the prototypical objects of persecution via countless demonic images. This type of collective memory, fed by various popular sources, is of no less interest to Ruth Ewan than the sort of active forgetting evidenced in Robeson’s case. The artist discussed, manipulated and reinterpreted potent imagery with young people. The aforementioned muzzle served as point of departure. It was put on women (among others) suspected of practicing witchcraft, thus brutally forcing them into silence. Both sides of Ewan’s project, the deletion of existence and its stigmatization, grapple with the control of information due to supposed moral or political reprehensibility.

The exhibition at the Arthur Boskamp Foundation M.1 is Ruth Ewan’s first solo show in Germany and offers insight into her conceptual working strategies and the different media they employ.

curated by Katja Schroeder

Kindly supported by the British Council.

Events

2010

24. October 17–19 h Event

“Collateral Events, put together by Ruth Ewan”

5 pm, Reading: E. A. Poe, The Black Cat
6 pm, Silent Film: Hexen (Witches), 1922

2. October 17–19 h Paul Robeson – Here I Stand, 1999

“Collateral Events, put together by Ruth Ewan”

Documentary

19. September 14:30–16:30 h Opening

Damnatio Memoriae

Ausstellung

long_description

19. September–24. Oktober 2010

Künstler/innen:

Ruth Ewan (geb. 1980 in Aberdeen) beschäftigt sich in ihrem aktuellen Projekt „Damnatio Memoriae“ in verschiedenen historischen Kontexten mit Strafpraktiken sowie mit Strategien von Erinnern und Vergessen. Umfassende Recherchen und partizipative Workshops sind der Anfang einer künstlerischen Auseinandersetzung, die sich unter Verwendung von gefundenen Materialien wie z.B. von Postkarten, Zeitungsartikeln, Postern und Filmen realisiert.

Zwei ungleiche Objekte, ein frühneuzeitlicher Maulkorb und eine seltene Tomatensorte, sind für Ewans Projekt „Damnatio Memoriae“ Anlass der Auseinandersetzung mit Geschichte und Gedächtnis. Unzählige schwarz-rote Tomaten verwandeln die Halle des M.1 in ein großes Gewächshaus. Die dunkel getönte Frucht ist benannt nach dem afroamerikanischen Sänger und Schauspieler Paul Robeson (1898-1976). In den 40er und 50er Jahren wurde er aufgrund seines politischen Kampfes gegen Rassismus massiven Repressionen ausgesetzt und seine künstlerische Existenz durch Zensur skrupellos ausgelöscht.

Der Hexen als Prototypen der Verfolgten wird hingegen bis heute in Form von zahlreichen schaurigen Abbildungen gedacht. Diese Variante des kollektiven Gedächtnisses, das durch verschiedene populäre Quellen gespeist wird, beschäftigt Ruth Ewan nicht weniger als das aktive Vergessen bei Robeson. Gemeinsam mit Jugendlichen hat die in London lebende Künstlerin gedächtnisprägendes Bildmaterial diskutiert, manipuliert und neu gedeutet. Ausgangspunkt für die Untersuchung war besagter Maulkorb, den man u.a. Frauen anlegte, die der Hexerei verdächtigt wurden, um sie brutal zum Schweigen zu bringen. Beide Seiten von Ewans Projekt, das Auslöschen und Stigmatisieren von Existenz, setzen sich mit der Kontrolle von Information aufgrund vermeintlicher moralischer oder politischer Verwerflichkeit auseinander.

Das M.1 der Arthur Boskamp-Stiftung erlaubt mit Ruth Ewans erster deutscher Einzelausstellung einen Einblick in ihre konzeptionellen Arbeitsstrategien und deren unterschiedliche Medien.

Kuratiert von Katja Schroeder

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung des British Council

Termine

2010

19. September 14:30–16:30 Uhr Eröffnung
2. Oktober 17–19 Uhr Paul Robeson – Here I Stand, 1999
short_description

“Begleitprogramm zur Ausstellung, zusammengestellt von Ruth Ewan”

Dokumentarfilm

short_description

24. Oktober 17–19 Uhr Veranstaltung
short_description

“Begleitprogramm zur Ausstellung, zusammengestellt von Ruth Ewan”

17 Uhr, Lesung: E. A. Poe, Die schwarze Katze
18 Uhr, Stummfilm: Hexen, 1922

short_description