HIGH SEASON

Exhibition

18 June–28 August 2011

Artists:

Nevin Aladağ

curated by Brigitte Kölle

The Arthur Boskamp Foundation presents a comprehensive solo show of the artist Nevin Aladağ. Born in Turkey in 1972, the artist now lives and works in Berlin and has received international recognition for her performances, sound and video works, photography and installations in recent years. Although Nevin Aladağ’s body of work is exceptionally diverse, some leitmotifs can be distinguished, such as the identity question (of people as well as places), self-perception and the perception of others, role attributions and identity models.

One medium that finds frequent and varied use in Nevin Aladağ’s work is sound. “Hochsaison/High Season” is a pure sound piece as well as the title piece of the exhibition. The modern hall – the largest exhibition space at the Arthur Boskamp Foundation – is left radically empty and becomes a place in the viewer’s imagination solely through the sounds and noises of a public swimming pool. We hear the happy cries of children, the splashing eruptions of bodies hitting the water, the familiar murmur everyone knows from childhood that is the background noise at a public pool. There is nothing arbitrary about the chain of associations set in motion: Water, heatwave, summer, sweat, scent, exuberance, eroticism, lack of space, etc. Minimal means that work like triggers, capable of evoking powerful inner images.

The identities of places we perceive to be transitory, the meaning of temporality, the cultural coding of action and interaction are leitmotifs that traverse this exhibition, which brings together the artist’s older and more recent work.

Kind thanks to the Landeskulturverband (Regional Culture Association) Schleswig-Holstein e.V. for supporting this show.

Events

2011

18. June 15 h Opening

HOCHSAISON

Ausstellung

18. Juni–28. August 2011

Künstler/innen:

Nevin Aladağ

Kuratiert von Brigitte Kölle

Die Arthur Boskamp-Stiftung präsentiert eine umfangreiche Einzelausstellung der Künstlerin Nevin Aladağ. Die 1972 in der Türkei geborene Künstlerin, die heute in Berlin lebt und arbeitet, ist mit ihren Performances, Sound- und Videoarbeiten, Fotografien und Rauminstallationen in den letzten Jahren international bekannt geworden. Obwohl das Werk von Nevin Aladağ außerordentlich vielfältig ist, lassen sich Leitmotive ausmachen wie etwas die Frage nach Identität (von Personen oder auch von Orten), Selbst- und Fremdwahrnehmung, Rollenzuschreibungen und Selbstentwürfe.

Ein wiederholt und mannigfaltig eingesetztes künstlerisches Medium von Nevin Aladağ ist Sound. Ein reines Sound Piece ist die Arbeit „Hochsaison“, die auch der Ausstellung ihren Namen gibt. Die moderne Halle – der größte Ausstellungsraum der Arthur Boskamp-Stiftung – bleibt dabei radikal leer und wird allein durch die Geräusche und Klänge eines öffentlichen Schwimmbads zu einem Ort der Imagination. Wir hören das fröhliche Geschrei von Kindern, das platschende Aufkommen von Körpern auf dem Wasser, das uns seit der Kindheit vertraute Gemurmel als Hintergrundgeräusch einer öffentlichen Badeanstalt. Unwillkürlich wird eine Assoziationskette in Gang gesetzt: Wasser, Hitze, Sommer, Schweiß, Gerüche, Ausgelassenheit, Erotik, Enge usw. Nevin Aladağs funktioniert wie ein ‚Trigger‘, der mit minimalen Mitteln starke, innere Bilder hervorzurufen vermag.

Die als veränderlich empfundene Identität von Orten, die Bedeutung von Zeitlichkeit, die kulturelle Kodierung von Aktion und Interaktion sind Aspekte, die sich leitmotivisch durch diese Ausstellung, die ältere und neuere Werke der Künstlerin zusammenbringt, ziehen.

Wir danken dem Landeskulturverband Schleswig-Holstein e.V. für die Unterstützung der Ausstellung.

Termine

2011

18. Juni 15 Uhr Eröffnung