Artistic Director M.1 2019/20
Sascia Bailer

1 January 2019–30 June 2020

In her term as artistic director of M.1, Sascia Bailer focuses on the complex concept of care. Despite its crucial social function, care-work usually remains invisible, underrepresented and undervalued – whether within an institution or in "housework". This results in social and economic precariousness: isolation among old people and young parents, poverty among single parents and large families, a lack of care across ages, unequal distribution of care-work between the sexes, lack of sufficient and effective countermeasures to the care crisis.

At the same time, care also forms the origin of the word curating and thus opens up a field of tension between its significance as an exhibition practice in the art field and its function as a social, caring activity in society: how can artistic and curatorial practice relate to the crisis of care; how can the invisibility of care be made visible through artistic projects; and how can new relationship patterns be established that counteract the marginalization and isolation of care-work?

On the basis of this question, Sascia Bailer has developed three programme pillars that address care-work on different levels, in order to create a platform for care-workers and artists where exchange, alliances and visibility can be fostered.

I. VOR ORT

I. ON SITE
–––––––––

Care-work is diverse, but the problems are often the same: chronic burnout, lack of self-care, increased isolation. These issues are also present in Hohenlockstedt and the surrounding area. In a series of workshops led by artists, these themes are crucial. The participants will be equipped with tools and knowledge that they can integrate into their everyday lives and caring responsibilities. Recognition, exchange and networking of local care-workers will be made possible – and care for caregivers will be provided.

Workshop series: Care für Careworkers

19 May 2019, 11am-4pm

The Mother of all Questions: Between Mother Breasts and Kissing Muses
A workshop on the occasion of Mother's Day

further dates will follow

II. KUNST

II. ART
–––––

In the open realm of art, new strategies can be developed to approach the complex themes surrounding care work. Art works that are located at the interface of social reproduction and social justice are specifically supported - in the broadest sense: art that takes care of caretaking. This is achieved through theme-specific advancement awards, artist residencies, artistic interventions and exhibitions in M.1.

III. ZUKUNFT

III. FUTURE
––––––––––

Considering these urgencies around care-work, relatively little is happening in politics and the public. The question arises: Who cares? Different positions from art, activism, science and society will therefore be brought together to collectively reflect on a caring future of solidarity. What structures are needed in art and society to make inclusion and equality a reality? Which approaches exist already, which gaps are hardly questioned?

Social Muscle Club

27 April 2019

Events

2019

27. April 19:34 h Welcome to the first SOCIAL MUSCLE CLUB in Hohenlockstedt

Künstlerische Leitung M.1 2019/20
Sascia Bailer

1. Januar 2019–30. Juni 2020

Der inhaltliche Fokus von Sascia Bailer als Künstlerischer Leiterin des M.1 im Turnus 2019/20 liegt auf dem vielschichtigen Begriff Care [englisch für Pflege, Fürsorge, sich kümmern].
Denn Care- oder Sorgearbeit, bleibt trotz ihrer zentralen gesellschaftlichen Funktion zumeist unsichtbar, unterrepräsentiert und unterbewertet – egal ob innerhalb einer Einrichtung oder in „Hausarbeit“. Dadurch entsteht soziale und ökonomische Prekarität: Isolation bei alten Menschen und jungen Eltern, Armut bei Alleinerziehenden und kinderreichen Familien, fehlende Betreuung von Kleinkindern bis zu alten Menschen, ungleiche Verteilung von Care-Arbeit zwischen den Geschlechtern, Mangel an ausreichenden, effektiven Gegenmaßnahmen zur Care Crisis.

Gleichzeitig bildet Care auch den Ursprung des Wortes „Kuratieren“ und eröffnet somit ein Spannungsfeld zwischen seiner Bedeutung als Ausstellungspraxis im Kunstbereich und seiner Funktion als soziale, pflegende Tätigkeit in der Gesellschaft: Wie kann sich künstlerische und kuratorische Praxis auf die Krise der Pflege beziehen; die Unsichtbarkeit von Fürsorge durch künstlerische Projekte sichtbarmachen; und neue Beziehungsmuster knüpfen, die der Marginalität und Isolation von Care-Arbeit entgegen wirken?

Anhand dieser Fragestellung hat Sascia Bailer drei Programmsäulen entwickelt, die Care-Arbeit auf verschiedenen Ebenen adressieren. Dadurch entsteht eine Plattform für Care-Arbeitende und Künstler*innen auf der Austausch, Allianzen und Sichtbarkeiten geschaffen werden können.

I. VOR ORT
__________

Care-Arbeit ist vielfältig, aber die Probleme sind oft die gleichen: chronische Überlastung, Mangel an Selbstfürsorge, erhöhte Isolation. Diese sind auch in Hohenlockstedt und Umgebung präsent. In einer Reihe von Workshops, die von Künstler*innen geleitet werden, stehen diese Themen im Vordergrund. Den Teilnehmer*innen wird Werkzeug und Wissen vermittelt, die sie in ihren Alltag integrieren können. Anerkennung, Austausch und Vernetzung von Sorgearbeitenden vor Ort wird ermöglicht -- sowie Fürsorge geleistet für jene Menschen, die zumeist Sorge tragen.

Workshopreihe: Care für Care-Arbeitende

19.05.2019, 11-16 Uhr

Die Mutter aller Fragen: Zwischen Mutterbrüsten und Musenküssen
Ein Workshop anlässlich des Muttertags

weitere Termine folgen

II. KUNST
________

Im Freiraum der Kunst können neue Strategien entwickelt werden, um sich dem Themenkomplex um Care-Arbeit zu nähern. Gezielt unterstützt werden künstlerische Arbeiten, die an der Schnittstelle von sozialer Reproduktion und sozialer Gerechtigkeit angesiedelt sind – im weitesten Sinne: Kunst, die sich um das Kümmern kümmert. Dies geschieht durch themenspezifische Förderpreise, Atelierstipendien, künstlerische Interventionen und Ausstellungen im M.1.

III. ZUKUNFT
___________

Im Anbetracht des sozialen Notstands regt sich relativ wenig in Politik und Öffentlichkeit. Die Frage drängt sich auf: Who cares? Verschiedene Positionen aus Kunst, Aktivismus, Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft sollen daher zusammengeführt werden, um gemeinsam über eine solidarische Zukunft der Fürsorge nachzudenken. Welche Strukturen braucht es in Kunst und Gesellschaft, um Inklusion und Gleichstellung Realität werden zu lassen? Welche Ansätze gibt es schon, welche Missstände werden kaum hinterfragt?

Termine

2019

27. April 19:34 Uhr Tausch Dich glücklich mit dem ersten SOCIAL MUSCLE CLUB in Hohenlockstedt